Licensing
How to get a CDL in Wisconsin
Each line is from a Wisconsin licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Wisconsin
- Minimum age
- Not stated in the section checked.
- CLP fee
- The section sets a general instruction permit at $20, a Class M instruction permit at $22, and a Class D instruction permit at $25. It does not print a separate commercial learner permit line. Section 343.21(1)(n) adds a $10 issuance fee on top of any other fee for an instruction permit.
- CDL fee
- Initial issuance or renewal of authorization to operate Class A, Class B, or Class C vehicles is $64. That fee includes an H, N, P, or T endorsement applied for at the same time. An S endorsement applied for at the same time is an additional $5. Section 343.21(1)(n) adds a $10 issuance fee on top of any other issuance or renewal fee.
- Skills-test fee
- Section 343.21(2) sets the driving skills examination fee at $20 for a commercial motor vehicle other than a school bus. That payment covers no more than three tests. The license fees above are charged in addition to it.
- ELDT
- Not stated in the section checked.
- Medical card
- Not stated in the section checked.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Wisconsin?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Wisconsin 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Wisconsin Statutes section 343.21 is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Wisconsin · License fees and training cost in Wisconsin