Licensing
How to get a CDL in Virginia
Each line is from a Virginia licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Virginia
- Minimum age
- At least 18 for an intrastate CDL, and 21 for an interstate CDL.
- CLP fee
- A commercial learner’s permit is $3. It is valid for one year and cannot be renewed. The applicant must reapply.
- CDL fee
- A standard CDL with no endorsements is $64 and is valid for eight years. It typically expires on the holder’s birthday. Endorsements cost an additional $1 per year. The page lists a non-refundable hazmat fingerprint fee of $83, valid for five years, or $41 when the applicant uses TWIC comparability and is not fingerprinted. That $41 check is valid through the TWIC expiration. The TSA hazmat page checked the same day lists a different new-applicant amount.
- Skills-test fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the page checked. Applicants must pass the CDL skills tests. The page says to hold the commercial learner permit at least 14 days and complete entry-level driver training before the CDL.
- ELDT
- A person who is 18 or older and has not previously held a CDL must pass a state-approved entry-level driver training program and hold the commercial learner permit at least 14 days. When it applies, that training comes before the hazmat knowledge exam and before road skills testing for a Class A or Class B CDL. The page does not state an hour minimum.
- Medical card
- Every CDL and commercial learner permit applicant must certify one of four operating categories: excepted interstate, excepted intrastate, non-excepted interstate, or non-excepted intrastate. The page points to a separate medical-certification page for the requirements of each category. It does not restate those exam rules.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Virginia?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Virginia 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Virginia DMV: apply for a commercial driver license or learner permit is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Virginia · License fees and training cost in Virginia