Licensing
How to get a CDL in New York
Each line is from a New York licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in New York
- Minimum age
- Not stated on the pages checked.
- CLP fee
- The application fee for the written tests is $10. That fee covers the knowledge and endorsement tests taken at the same time. Another required test not taken and passed then is an additional $5. The page describes this as the fee when you apply for an original Class A or B commercial permit.
- CDL fee
- The pages checked do not list a separate fee for the CDL card itself.
- Skills-test fee
- The road test fee is $40. It can be paid when the office issues the commercial learner permit, or later online.
- ELDT
- Not stated on the pages checked.
- Medical card
- You must meet the federal medical examination requirements. Commercial drivers must self-certify the type of driving they will do, and must have a USDOT medical examiner certificate on file with DMV when that certificate applies.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in New York?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in New York 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. New York DMV: get a commercial driver license is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in New York · License fees and training cost in New York