Skip to content
CDLP
Menu

Licensing

How to get a CDL in Minnesota

Each line is from a Minnesota licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.

Compare CDL schools in Minnesota

Minimum age
Not stated in the section checked.
CLP fee
A commercial learner’s permit is $8.50. The commissioner also collects a $2.25 surcharge on each fee in that subdivision.
CDL fee
The classified-license table lists Class A at $46.75, Class B at $38.75, and Class C at $31.75. An under-21 Class A license is $26.75. Each of those amounts also has the $2.25 surcharge. A school bus endorsement adds a $4 processing fee for a new applicant or a renewal, and the department must not charge those applicants another fee to receive or renew that endorsement. A driver’s license agent may also charge a filing fee under section 171.061. This section does not print that filing-fee dollar.
Skills-test fee
Not stated in the section checked.
ELDT
Not stated in the section checked.
Medical card
Not stated in the section checked.

Sources

Questions drivers ask

What does a CDL cost in Minnesota?

Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.

Is the minimum age in Minnesota 21?

Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.

Does this page issue the license?

No. Minnesota Statutes section 171.06 is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.

All states · National steps · CDL schools in Minnesota · License fees and training cost in Minnesota