Licensing
How to get a CDL in Louisiana
Each line is from a Louisiana licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Louisiana
- Minimum age
- The new-CDL page says a commercial learner permit requires 18 or older. It does not state a separate interstate age.
- CLP fee
- The new-CDL page does not print a separate permit dollar. A permit is issued for up to 180 days and can be extended once, for another 180 days, at no charge. The term cannot exceed 360 days from the initial issue date. The holder is not eligible for the skills test in the first 14 days after the permit is issued.
- CDL fee
- The businesses page says the license fee is $61.50, or $76.50 for an Orleans Parish resident, plus a $15 application fee. Additional endorsements are $7.50 each, except a motorcycle endorsement at $12. An applicable parish fee is not to exceed $8. A duplicate is $5 plus any applicable parish fee not to exceed $6. A license expired more than 10 days is assessed a $15 delinquent fee. The new-CDL page says hazardous-materials fingerprinting through Integrated Biometric Technology is $85.25. That amount is the fingerprint charge, not the $7.50 endorsement line.
- Skills-test fee
- The businesses page says a third-party skills test is $100 if the applicant provides the vehicle. Vehicle rental is at the tester’s discretion. The pages checked do not print an Office of Motor Vehicles skills-test dollar.
- ELDT
- The new-CDL page says an applicant may be required to take entry-level driver training before the skills test. A person who has never had a verifiable hazardous-materials endorsement must take that training before the written hazmat test. It does not state an hour minimum.
- Medical card
- The applicant must be medically certified. Physicals must be performed by an examiner on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. The businesses page says the physical fee is set by the medical examiner, and that a medical examiner’s certificate can be sent by email, fax, or mail.
Sources
- Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles: new CDL
- Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles: CDL questions for businesses
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Louisiana?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Louisiana 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles: new CDL is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Louisiana · License fees and training cost in Louisiana