Licensing
How to get a CDL in Kentucky
Each line is from a Kentucky licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Kentucky
- Minimum age
- At least 18 to drive within Kentucky, and 21 for interstate travel. An 18-year-old who holds a Class D license and passes the vision and knowledge tests may be licensed for intrastate commerce only, with a K restriction, and may not drive a school bus or a vehicle hauling hazardous material.
- CLP fee
- The commercial learner’s permit fee is $11, or $14 for a REAL ID. A $3 National Crime Information Center check, required by KRS 281A.300, is collected at the regional office before the written test. A temporary paper permit is issued until the permanent credential arrives by mail. A failed written test can be retaken after 24 hours.
- CDL fee
- CDL fees range from $18.75 to $50. The page does not assign those ends of the range to a class. A transfer pays a $60 CDL transfer fee plus the issuance fee in that same range. A farm-related restricted CDL is $15. Renewing a hazardous-materials endorsement requires the hazmat written and vision tests, unless the last test was less than two years ago; the testing fee is $5. The fingerprint-based criminal background check for hazmat is $138.25, and the page says that amount is not the endorsement fee.
- Skills-test fee
- The page does not print a separate skills-test dollar. It says skills tests can be retaken while the commercial learner’s permit is valid and skills-test fees are current. Hold the permit at least 14 days before the skills test. The test is taken in the same class of vehicle the applicant intends to operate.
- ELDT
- If required, entry-level driver training is completed before the road test is scheduled. The page requires it for a first Class A, a first Class B, an upgrade from Class B to Class A, and a first school bus, passenger, or hazardous materials endorsement. It does not state an hour minimum. Hazardous-materials training comes before the endorsement application and the hazmat knowledge test.
- Medical card
- Effective June 8, 2026, medical examiners submit medical certificates to FMCSA National Registry II. The Division of Driver Licensing no longer accepts paper copies from CDL drivers, and the myCDL portal has been discontinued. A driver whose examination is expiring has a certified medical examiner complete the certificate and upload it. An intrastate medical waiver under 601 KAR 11:040 is available when the driver does not meet 49 CFR part 391, subpart E. That waiver is intrastate only, and the license shows a K restriction.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Kentucky?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Kentucky 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Kentucky Division of Driver Licensing: commercial driver license is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Kentucky · License fees and training cost in Kentucky