Licensing
How to get a CDL in Kansas
Each line is from a Kansas licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
- Minimum age
- K.S.A. 8-240 does not state a minimum age to apply. It charges a different commercial license fee for a person under 21 than for a person 21 or older.
- CLP fee
- K.S.A. 8-240 charges $5 for an instruction-permit application for all commercial classes. The Department of Revenue chart lists that $5 issuance fee and an $8 photo fee for a commercial permit.
- CDL fee
- K.S.A. 8-240 charges $18 for any class of commercial driver’s license issued to a person 21 or older, and $20 for a commercial driver’s license issued to a person under 21. Each commercial endorsement is $10, except an air-brake endorsement, which has no charge. The fee chart adds an $8 photo fee.
- Skills-test fee
- K.S.A. 8-240 charges commercial class applicants a $15 driving-test fee for the drive-test portion of the application. The drive test has three components: pre-trip, skills, and road. If any portion is failed, another drive-test fee of $10 is charged. The fee chart lists the same $15 skills exam and $10 skills retest. The fee is not charged when the drive test is not required.
- ELDT
- The Department of Revenue commercial page links to entry-level driver training requirements. The text retrieved does not state an hour minimum.
- Medical card
- Effective June 2, 2025, Kansas no longer lets drivers type a medical examiner certificate in by hand. The certificate must arrive electronically from the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.
Sources
- Kansas Department of Revenue: commercial driver license
- K.S.A. 8-240
- Kansas Department of Revenue: credential fee chart, updated May 2023
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Kansas?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Kansas 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Kansas Department of Revenue: commercial driver license is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Kansas · License fees and training cost in Kansas