Licensing
How to get a CDL in Iowa
Each line is from a Iowa licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
- Minimum age
- Not stated in the section checked.
- CLP fee
- The fee for a commercial learner’s permit is $12. The section says that permit fee is not prorated.
- CDL fee
- A commercial driver’s license, other than the commercial learner’s permit, is $8 per year of license validity. The section does not multiply that rate by a term of years. A doubles or triples endorsement, a tank endorsement, or a hazardous materials endorsement is $5 each. A passenger endorsement or a school bus endorsement is $10. Removing an air-brake, full-air-brake, manual-transmission, tractor-trailer, or passenger-vehicle restriction is $10. On renewal, no fee is charged for keeping an endorsement or a removed restriction that does not require a knowledge or driving-skills test. The department does not charge the commercial license fee in subsection 4 to an applicant on federal or state active duty, or to an applicant with an honorable discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions.
- Skills-test fee
- Not stated in the section checked.
- ELDT
- Not stated in the section checked.
- Medical card
- Not stated in the section checked.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Iowa?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Iowa 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Iowa Code 2026, section 321.191 is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Iowa · License fees and training cost in Iowa