Licensing
How to get a CDL in Florida
Each line is from a Florida licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Florida
- Minimum age
- Applicants must be at least 18. Under 21, the license is restricted to intrastate operation only.
- CLP fee
- The fee schedule checked does not list a separate commercial learner permit line.
- CDL fee
- Original or renewal commercial driver license is $75. An additional $6.25 service fee may apply when a tax collector office issues the credential. The page says veterans who provide evidence of veteran status are not charged that $6.25 fee.
- Skills-test fee
- The fee schedule lists a skill retest at $20. It does not list a separate fee for the first skills test.
- ELDT
- Not stated on the pages checked. The commercial license page lists the knowledge tests and the skills tests for Class A, B, and C.
- Medical card
- Not stated on the pages checked.
Sources
- Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: commercial driver license
- Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: fees
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Florida?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Florida 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: commercial driver license is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Florida · License fees and training cost in Florida