Licensing
How to get a CDL in Colorado
Each line is from a Colorado licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Colorado
- Minimum age
- You must be 18 or older. A hazardous materials endorsement requires 21 or older.
- CLP fee
- The June 30, 2026 fee schedule lists the learner permit, including the commercial learner permit, at $20. The commercial permit is valid for one year and cannot be renewed.
- CDL fee
- The same schedule lists the commercial driver license fee at $35. The CDL page says a commercial license is valid for four years from issuance.
- Skills-test fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the pages checked. The permit must be held 14 calendar days before a skills test at an approved third-party facility.
- ELDT
- After the 14-day hold, complete entry-level driver training at an approved school before the skills test. Proof of that training is required when the license is issued. Providers are on the federal Training Provider Registry.
- Medical card
- A DOT medical card must be on file. The only method the page allows is electronic submission from the medical provider to the National Registry, which then sends it to Colorado. The provider submits within 24 business hours of the exam.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Colorado?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Colorado 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Colorado DMV: commercial driver license is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Colorado · License fees and training cost in Colorado