Licensing
How to get a CDL in Alaska
Each line is from a Alaska licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
- Minimum age
- Not stated on the page checked.
- CLP fee
- An instruction permit, commercial or non-commercial, is $15. The listed classes include IA, IB, and IC. Renewal of that permit is $5. The page says there is no REAL ID version of the instruction permit.
- CDL fee
- A commercial driver license, required to be REAL ID compliant, is $100 for the standard credential and $120 for REAL ID. Renewal is the same pair of amounts. Classes listed are A, B, and C. A duplicate CDL is $15 standard or $35 REAL ID.
- Skills-test fee
- A road test in a commercial vehicle is $25.
- ELDT
- Not stated on the page checked.
- Medical card
- Not stated on the page checked.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Alaska?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Alaska 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Alaska DMV: license fees is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Alaska · License fees and training cost in Alaska