Skip to content
CDLP
Menu

Licensing

How to get a CDL in Alabama

Each line is from a Alabama licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.

Compare CDL schools in Alabama

Minimum age
The June 2016 Alabama Driver License Manual lists an unrestricted Class A CDL at 21, an unrestricted Class B at 21, a restricted Class B at 18, and a Class C at 21. The current fees page does not restate those ages.
CLP fee
The fees page lists a $25 testing fee and $36.25 to purchase a commercial learner license. Checks are not accepted. A skills test for a first-time applicant or an upgrade is a separate $20 and is by appointment.
CDL fee
The same page lists $66.25 to purchase a Class A license, $56.25 for Class B, and $36.25 for Class C. The $25 testing fee applies to CDL or CDL learner applicants. A hazardous-materials transfer or a new hazardous-materials endorsement requires a Transportation Security Administration background check. The page does not print that TSA dollar amount.
Skills-test fee
A skills test for a first-time applicant or an upgrade is $20 and is by appointment only. The page also lists the separate $25 testing fee.
ELDT
Not stated on the pages checked.
Medical card
If the applicant certifies non-excepted interstate, the fees page says the current medical certification or DOT medical card is received electronically. Missing or inaccurate information prohibits issuance.

Sources

Questions drivers ask

What does a CDL cost in Alabama?

Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.

Is the minimum age in Alabama 21?

Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.

Does this page issue the license?

No. Alabama Law Enforcement Agency: document requirements and fees is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.

All states · National steps · CDL schools in Alabama · License fees and training cost in Alabama