Licensing
How to get a CDL in Washington
Each line is from a Washington licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Washington
- Minimum age
- Not stated on the pages checked.
- CLP fee
- A commercial learner permit is $40.
- CDL fee
- The fee page does not label a separate original CDL issuance amount. Renewal of a commercial driver license is $163 for six years or $217 for eight years.
- Skills-test fee
- The CDL knowledge test is $35. The CDL skills test is $175. The page also lists a CDL skills test for Head Start at $175.
- ELDT
- Not stated on the pages checked.
- Medical card
- The commercial license page has a section for medical certificates and self-certification. The text retrieved does not state a dollar fee or an age for that certificate.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Washington?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Washington 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Washington DOL: driver licensing fees is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Washington · License fees and training cost in Washington