Licensing
How to get a CDL in Tennessee
Each line is from a Tennessee licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Tennessee
- Minimum age
- The commercial driver license page says an applicant must be at least 18. An applicant under 21 is restricted to driving only within Tennessee.
- CLP fee
- The fee page lists a one-year Class A learner permit at $14, made up of an $8 license cost and a $6 application fee. A Class B or Class C learner permit is $13, made up of a $7 license cost and a $6 application fee. A county clerk adds a $4 administrative fee.
- CDL fee
- An 8-year Class A license is $70, made up of a $64 license cost and a $6 application fee. Class B or Class C is $62, made up of a $56 license cost and a $6 application fee. A tanker, passenger, hazardous-materials, or doubles-and-triples endorsement added to the base license is $8.50, made up of $2.50 plus a $6 application fee. A school-bus endorsement is $26, made up of $20 plus a $6 application fee. A county clerk adds $4. The commercial driver license page says: “Beginning 1/1/2026 CDL credentials issued to someone with a Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card, issued by USCIS or INS will be issued a Temporary CDL.” It also says: “Tennessee does not issue non-domicile Commercial Driver License.”
- Skills-test fee
- The pages checked do not print a state skills-test dollar. The commercial driver license page says a third-party testing organization may charge an additional fee. Before the road skills test, the applicant must pass a pre-trip vehicle inspection and the basic vehicle control test.
- ELDT
- All new applicants must complete entry-level driver training with a registered training provider. The page does not state an hour minimum.
- Medical card
- The endorsement table says a DOT medical card is required for every government employee who has a passenger or hazardous-materials endorsement. The pages checked do not state a medical-card rule for every other applicant.
Sources
- Tennessee Department of Safety: driver license fees
- Tennessee Department of Safety: commercial driver license
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Tennessee?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Tennessee 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Tennessee Department of Safety: driver license fees is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Tennessee · License fees and training cost in Tennessee