Licensing
How to get a CDL in Oregon
Each line is from a Oregon licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
- Minimum age
- At least 21, or 18 for intrastate driving. The same ages apply to the commercial learner permit.
- CLP fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the page checked.
- CDL fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the page checked.
- Skills-test fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the page checked. You need an Oregon commercial learner permit before the skills test. The test has three parts.
- ELDT
- Entry-level driver training is required to get a first Class A or Class B commercial license, to upgrade Class B to Class A, and for a first passenger, school bus, or hazardous materials endorsement, unless an exception on the page applies. A military skills-test waiver is one exception the page names. Training providers are on the federal Training Provider Registry.
- Medical card
- Complete a DOT medical examination with an examiner on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. Valid medical certification must be on the DMV record before the license or permit is issued.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Oregon?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Oregon 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Oregon DMV: commercial driver license or learner permit is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.