Licensing
How to get a CDL in Ohio
Each line is from a Ohio licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
- Minimum age
- Not stated in the section checked. The statute page says this text is effective April 12, 2021.
- CLP fee
- Each application for a commercial temporary instruction permit is $10.
- CDL fee
- A commercial license, a restricted commercial license, or a renewal is $25 if it expires on the holder’s 21st birthday, $25 if it expires four years after issuance, and $49.50 if it expires eight years after issuance.
- Skills-test fee
- Not stated in the section checked.
- ELDT
- Not stated in the section checked.
- Medical card
- Not stated in the section checked.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Ohio?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Ohio 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Ohio Revised Code 4506.08 is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Ohio · License fees and training cost in Ohio