Licensing
How to get a CDL in North Carolina
Each line is from a North Carolina licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in North Carolina
- Minimum age
- A commercial learner permit holder must be at least 18, and 21 for interstate commerce or a hazardous materials endorsement.
- CLP fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the page checked. The page links to a separate license fee page.
- CDL fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the page checked.
- Skills-test fee
- Not stated as a dollar amount on the page checked. After the permit is held at least 14 days, the skills test is scheduled by calling 919-715-7000. You must bring the commercial vehicle.
- ELDT
- Complete entry-level driver training from a provider on the federal Training Provider Registry before the skills test. The page says that classroom and behind-the-wheel training usually takes about four weeks. That is the page’s description, not a federal hour minimum.
- Medical card
- Some types of commerce require a certified medical status and a medical card at the original application and at renewal. After June 28, 2025, the page says the medical examiner certificate must be submitted electronically through the National Registry, and a paper certificate is no longer proof of certification.
Sources
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in North Carolina?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in North Carolina 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles: commercial driver licenses is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.