Licensing
How to get a CDL in Massachusetts
Each line is from a Massachusetts licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Massachusetts
- Minimum age
- The commercial learner’s permit page says an intrastate, Massachusetts-only permit requires at least 18, and an interstate permit requires at least 21. The commercial road-test page uses the same ages for an intrastate or interstate CDL.
- CLP fee
- The permit page lists a learner’s permit application at $30. A CDL endorsement taken with the permit application, or during the same transaction, is $10. An endorsement taken on a different day is $30. The May 2025 fee schedule lists the same permit and endorsement amounts, and $10 for each additional CDL endorsement during the same transaction. A permit expires 180 days from issue and can be renewed once, for another 180 days, at no fee. After that renewal, a new permit requires the knowledge tests again and another $30 written-test fee plus any endorsement fees. The permit must be renewed within 30 days of expiration.
- CDL fee
- The May 2025 fee schedule lists a five-year Class A, Class B, or Class C license at $75. The renewal page lists the same $75 for a Class A, Class B, or Class C renewal. The schedule lists an out-of-state conversion at $140 for Class A, Class B, or Class C. License fees are non-refundable. A disabled veteran who qualifies as 100 percent disabled by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs pays no license fee for issue, renewal, or a duplicate.
- Skills-test fee
- The commercial road-test page and the May 2025 schedule both list the road test at $35. The fee can be paid online. The license is issued at an RMV service center after a passed test. An applicant can attempt no more than six CDL skills tests in a 12-month period. Updating from Class D to Class C has no road test unless the endorsement requires one. Passenger, air-brake, and school-bus endorsements require road tests. The applicant brings a vehicle that represents the class.
- ELDT
- Applicants who obtain a first Class A or Class B commercial learner’s permit, upgrade from Class B to Class A, or add a first passenger or school-bus endorsement on or after February 7, 2022, must finish the applicable entry-level driver training from a registered provider before the road test. A hazmat endorsement on or after that date requires the applicable training before the knowledge test. The page does not state an hour minimum.
- Medical card
- The road-test page requires a valid Department of Transportation medical card or medical waiver. The permit page says drivers of commercial vehicles over 10,000 pounds must carry a valid DOT medical certificate, as must drivers transporting 15 or more passengers or placarded hazardous materials, regardless of vehicle size. State or municipal employees using a state or municipal vehicle are the exception named on that page.
Sources
- Massachusetts RMV: apply for a commercial learner’s permit
- Massachusetts RMV: renew a commercial driver’s license
- Massachusetts RMV: commercial road tests
- Massachusetts RMV schedule of fees, revised May 2025
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Massachusetts?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Massachusetts 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Massachusetts RMV: apply for a commercial learner’s permit is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Massachusetts · License fees and training cost in Massachusetts