Licensing
How to get a CDL in Maryland
Each line is from a Maryland licensing page opened . A line that says the page did not state a fee is not an estimate.
Compare CDL schools in Maryland
- Minimum age
- The get-or-renew page says the applicant must already hold a valid full Maryland driver license, be at least 18 to drive commercially within Maryland, and be at least 21 to drive across state lines, transport hazardous materials, or transport passengers.
- CLP fee
- The fee page, effective September 1, 2025, lists a CDL learner’s permit at $106. The reclassifying page says the fee for a learner’s permit includes the fee for obtaining the higher-class license, and that a customer who already holds a commercial learner’s permit pays no additional fee because it was included in the permit fee.
- CDL fee
- The same fee page lists an 8-year CDL renewal at $64, a same-class conversion from another state at $64, a hazmat conversion at $40 for a 5-year license, a CDL with a hazmat endorsement at $30 for a 5-year license, a duplicate at $30, a correction without renewal at $30, and adding a motorcycle class at $45. The hazmat background check is $109.25. Commercial licenses are valid for a maximum of 8 years, and the fees may be prorated. The get-or-renew page, opened October 29, 2026, says: “Due to federal regulations issued by the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT), effective Monday, September 29, 2025 - and as directed by the USDOT - the MVA has paused the issuance of all non-domiciled commercial driver products until further notice. This includes issuance, transfers, updates, replacements, duplicates, and renewals of both non-domiciled Commercial Learner’s Permits (CLPs) and non-domiciled Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDLs).”
- Skills-test fee
- The fee page lists a CDL skills retest at $20. It does not print a separate dollar for the first skills test. The get-or-renew page says the permit must be held at least 14 days, and the applicant must provide a representative vehicle. It sets a 45-minute limit for the pre-trip inspection and 10 minutes for each basic-control maneuver.
- ELDT
- Entry-level driver training from a provider on the FMCSA Training Provider Registry is required before the skills test for a first Class A or Class B, and for a first passenger, school bus, or hazardous-materials endorsement. Hazardous-materials training comes before the knowledge test. A driver who held an out-of-state CDL, or who previously held a CDL that lapsed, is not required to repeat training for the same class. The page does not state an hour minimum.
- Medical card
- The applicant must pass a physical by an examiner on the Federal National Registry and hold a medical examiner’s certificate. The get-or-renew page says the certificate is sent directly to the MVA from the FMCSA National Registry, and that keeping it current is required to maintain the CDL.
Sources
- Maryland MVA: license and ID fees, effective September 1, 2025
- Maryland MVA: get or renew a CDL
- Maryland MVA: reclassifying a license
Questions drivers ask
What does a CDL cost in Maryland?
Only the amounts printed on the official page checked October 29, 2026. If a permit, license, or skills-test line was missing, this page says so instead of borrowing a figure from another state.
Is the minimum age in Maryland 21?
Use the age sentence on this page. It is the age the state page stated. Interstate work can still have a different federal age.
Does this page issue the license?
No. Maryland MVA: license and ID fees, effective September 1, 2025 is the licensing source. This page does not take an application.
All states · National steps · CDL schools in Maryland · License fees and training cost in Maryland